You are here

    Home » City Council/City Manager » Boards & Commissions » Historic Preservation Commission

    Historic Preservation Commission (bc)


    Protects and preserves the historic areas of the City; reviews requests for erection, reconstruction, alteration or demolition affecting any structure on the Historic Buildings Map or in a Historic District. 


    3rd Monday monthly
    3:45 p.m. 
    City Hall 2nd Floor Training Room


    NUMBER OF MEMBERS:  7 (1 architect; 1 owner and resident of property in a historic district that is defined as a neighborhood but excludes single-structure districts; 2 meeting the Professional Standards Qualifications used by the National Park Service and published in the Code of Federal Regulations, 36 CFR Part 61.  No more than one appointee shall be engaged in buying and selling of or investment in real estate. All members shall have a demonstrated interest, competence and knowledge in historic preservation.

    Mr. Neil W. Bohnert (Chair)
    Owner/Resident - Ward 2
    Ms. Kay Butterfield 
    Owner/Resident - Ward 2
    Ms. Lauren Dianich
    Architect - Ward 1
    Mr. Christopher McSwain 
    Hotel manager - demonstrated interest
    Mr. Richard C. Morris
    Architect - Ward 2
    Mr. James M. Peery, III
    Owner/Resident - Ward 2
    Mr. Sam Roskelley
    Engineer - Ward 4
    As of 6/23/15

    Liaison:  Tom Martin: 434-455-3909

    Membership:  1-Architect or an architectural historian, 1-Owner/Resident of a Historic District, 2-Meeting the Professional Standards Qualifications 
    Note:  No more than one appointee shall be engaged in real estate.


    Average: 3 (1.0 vote)