A great place to live, work and play.

    You are here

    Community Development Advisory Committee (CDAC)


    Serves as a primary mechanism for facilitating citizen participation throughout all stages of the federal government consolidated planning, implementation and evaluation process and makes recommendations to the City Council regarding plans and projects for the Community Development Block Grant and HOME programs.


    Meets on an as-necessary schedule


    Kimberly Dyke-Harsley*
    Daniel’s Hill - Ward 2
    Valerie Harris**
    Tinbridge Hill - Ward 2
    John Hughes, III
    College Hill - Ward 2
    Susan E. Murray
    Diamond Hill South - Ward 2
    Randy Nelson
    Council Representative - Vice Chair
    Dennis Newton
    Diamond Hill - Ward 2
    Beau Wright
    Council Representative
    *Term expires on December 31, 2019.  Not eligible to serve again.
    **Term expires on December 31, 2019.  Eligible to serve again.

    As of 10/24/2019

    Liaison - Melva Walker: 434-455-3916

    Department Director: Kent White

    Membership:  Seven (7) members - five (5) shall be residents of predominately low and moderate income neighborhoods, and/or other slum and blighted areas of the City.  No more than one representative from a single neighborhood shall be allowed to serve at a time. These persons may or may not be current members of neighborhood organizations.  Two (2) members shall be current members of the Lynchburg City Council.

    December appointment