Freedom of Information Act


Have a comment, suggestion, or request? Contact us using our online request portal.


M-F, 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM


    You are here

    Home » City Council/City Manager » City Leadership Team

    Leadership Team

    The City Manager appoints Leaders who represent critical areas, including Community Safety, Human Services, Public Works, Economic Development, Community Development, and Human Resources.  The City’s Leadership Team fulfills a global role in the organization which includes:

    1. Planning, executing, and evaluating organization-wide strategies that achieve Council’s vision and goals and important community needs;
    2. Serving as the City’s futurists, responsible for giving the organization its strategic advantage and opportunities; and 
    3. Providing credible, model leadership that creates an organization where people can be successful.

    The Leadership Team has the responsibility for developing and executing City Council's priorities in an annual cycle that includes multiple performance years. The planning effort includes: ongoing environmental assessment to identify emerging issues, providing focus and direction for the organization, resource and tactical planning, identifying core strategies and policies critical to organizational success, and determining evaluation methods and linking them to the budget and performance measures systems.

    (alphabetically by position)

    City Manager Office: 

    Assistant City Manager John H. Hughes, IV
    City Manager Bonnie Svrcek
    Deputy City Manager Charles Hartgrove

    Department Directors:

    City Assessor vacant
    City Attorney Walter C. Erwin, III
    Clerk of Council (City Clerk) Valeria P. Chambers
    Commissioner of the Revenue Mitchell W. Nuckles
    Commonwealth's Attorney Michael Doucette
    Communications & Marketing Director JoAnn Martin
    Community Development Director Kent L. White
    Economic Development Director Marjette G. Upshur
    Emergency Services Director Melissa Foster
    Financial Services Director Donna Witt
    Fire Chief Brad Ferguson
    Fleet Services Director Charles Cramer, Jr.
    Human Resources Director Heather Brown
    Human Services Director Tamara Rosser
    Information Technology Director Michael Goetz
    Library Director Marilyn Martin
    Parks & Recreation and Museums Director Jennifer Jones
    Police Chief Raul Diaz
    Public Works Director Gaynelle L. Hart
    Water Resources Director Timothy A. Mitchell

    Average: 3.7 (6 votes)